Virtual Communications

Advanced Zoom Features

Chat

Begin by clicking the “Manage Participants” icon in the meeting menu [1]. The participants window will open. To reveal the chat function in the participants window, select “chat” from the meeting menu [2]. You can send messages to the whole group or privately to individual participants using the blue dropdown menu [3]. Additionally, Zoom chats may be saved. Please visit Zoom’s “In-meeting Chat” documentation for more information on saving options.

chat options

Share Screen

“Share Screen” lets you share your screen with meeting participants. Before clicking “Share Screen” [1], make sure the application you want to share is already open on your desktop. When you click “Share Screen,” a new window displays all of your computer’s open applications. Select the window or application that you want to share [2].

Select, if needed, from the following options [3]:

  • Share computer sound when screen sharing
  • Optimize for full screen video clip

Then click “Share Screen” at the bottom right corner of the window [4]. While you are in “screen sharing” mode, you will notice a green frame around the app you’ve selected to share [5]. The green frame represents what your students will be able to view. Screen sharing options will appear in a menu bar at the top of your screen [6]. To learn more about the “Share Screen” feature on mobile devices, visit Zoom’s “Screen Share iPhone/iPad Apps” guide, or for Android visit the “How Do I Share My Screen?” page, scroll to the bottom and select “Android.”

share screen

Whiteboard Annotations

The Whiteboard feature allows you to share a whiteboard that you can annotate with others. Select “Share Screen” [1], then select “Whiteboard” [2], and then “Share Screen” at the bottom right corner of the window [3]. You can then select the “Whiteboard” to show the annotation tools available [4]. Click “save” to save the whiteboard as a PNG file [5]. It will be stored in documents > zoom > meeting ID folder as whiteboard.png.

whiteboard options

Breakout Rooms

Video Breakout Rooms allow you to split your Zoom meeting up into separate sessions (50 maximum). The meeting host can choose to split the participants of the meeting into these separate sessions automatically or manually, and can switch between sessions at any time.

Select “Breakout Rooms” from the Zoom meeting menu [1]. Zoom will show the number of eligible participants [2]. Choose how many rooms to create [3] and let Zoom assign the participants automatically or choose to manually assign for more control [4]. Then click “Create Breakout Rooms” to proceed [5].

Your Breakout rooms are now available and participants are still in the main meeting. Zoom provides a variety of options that allow the meeting host to tailor the “Breakout Rooms” experience. For an indepth guide on Breakout Rooms, please visit Zoom’s “Managing Video Breakout Rooms” video tutorial.

breakout rooms options

Record a Meeting

To record a meeting, click the “record” icon at the bottom of the meeting window. Zoom will record the meeting’s audio and video (if selected). Click “Pause/Stop Recording” to pause/end all audio and video recording of the meeting. The recording will not be saved until you end the meeting.

recording a meeting

Retrieve Recorded Meeting Files

From your Zoom home screen, select “meetings” [1]. Then, select “recorded” at the top of the window [2]. A list of recorded sessions displays. Roll your cursor over the title of a meeting to reveal more options [3].

recorded meeting files