As a user of a Boston College Zoom Licensed (Pro) account, your account comes with security features in place to mitigate the risk of unwanted users joining your meeting Zoom meeting and causing disruptions (often referred to as “Zoombombing”). This document will briefly describe what those security features are.
In addition, you can enable additional security features for your meeting to further ensure that only invited attendees are able to attend your meeting.
In order to take advantage of the latest security enhancements by Zoom, it is important to keep your software up-to-date. Go to zoom.us/download to download the latest version of the Zoom app.
If you have specific questions about the functionality of Zoom security features, please contact ITS. If you’d like to have a conversation about establishing and preserving a safe and effective learning environment please contact email@example.com to consult with a CTE staff member. You can also find more information about additional security features on our FAQ page.
Zoom meetings using a Boston College Zoom Licensed (Pro) account require those joining the meeting to first authenticate. This means that anyone joining the meeting must first log in to Zoom.
Those affiliated with Boston College should use the “Single Sign-On” method, which will allow them to use BC credentials to log in to Zoom.
Those not affiliated with BC can use any method they prefer to sign in to Zoom. Zoom offers options to sign in with an email and password, a Google account, or a Facebook account. If the person joining your meeting does not have a Zoom account, they will need to first make an account in order to sign in. A free Zoom account will allow access to meetings hosted by a BC Zoom Licensed user as well.
In addition, BC Zoom Licensed accounts will place meeting attendees who are not affiliated with BC in a waiting room. That is, after a meeting attendee has authenticated (logged in to Zoom), and their authentication shows that they are not affiliated with BC, they will be placed in the waiting room.
You can admit users from the waiting room by clicking on “Admit” when the message pops up about their presence in the waiting room.
You can also see participants in the waiting room by clicking on “Participants.”